Florida ranks second in the country as one of the worst states for distracted driving. There were almost 50,000 crashes as a result of distracted driving in 2016 alone.
When it comes to driving in Florida, it is a privilege that many people take for granted. Certain violations come with more significant consequences than a ticket though.
If you flee an accident, drive recklessly, or drive under the influence than the state may require you to purchase SR22 insurance. If you need this additional requirement, you need to understand the specifics.
Use this guide to understand the different types of SR22 insurance and which one you need.
What Is SR22 Insurance?
The SR22 isn’t a type of insurance; it is a certificate that your insurance company will create and submit to the DMV. This certificate is an assurance to all interested parties that you are financially able to meet your liabilities in the event of an accident.
Think of it more like evidence to prove that you have insurance that complies with Florida laws. This certificate requirement became law in 2010 as Florida Statute 316.646(3).
Your certificate will prove that you carry these state-required minimums:
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident
- $10,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $20,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
Expect there to be a small fee to pay for filing in addition to your insurance coverage costs. You cannot submit the certificate yourself, so there is no getting out of this fee.
1. Owner’s Certificate
This SR22 certificate covers the liability for any vehicle that is owned by the covered individual. If you own vehicles that you don’t intend to drive then this is the certificate for you.
2. Operator’s Certificate
If the vehicle is owned by someone else, then the driver needs to get an operator’s certificate. If you drive someone else’s vehicle, then you will want this certificate.
3. Owner-Operator’s Certificate
This certificate covers any vehicle that is owned by both the driver and others. This is the most comprehensive certificate as it covers all vehicles whether you drive them or own them.
4. Non-Owner SR22 Insurance
Many insurance companies do not want to insure high-risk drivers. Because of this, you may find that your current insurance company does not offer SR22 insurance.
If you want to keep your primary insurance company, then you can look for a non-owner policy through a secondary insurance company. This lets you get your certificate filed with the state.
This second policy would expressly exclude any of your owned or regularly used vehicles. That way you don’t have duplicate coverage.
To do this, you must buy the same limits for your secondary policy that are on your primary.
This is also a good option if you don’t own a car and aren’t planning on driving anywhere. This policy will let you comply with your requirements.
The Difference Between a Certificate and Insurance
If you only need a certificate, then you have different insurance coverage requirements than if you need the insurance. the certificates only require you to carry Personal Injury Protection, or PIP and Property Damage Liability, or PDL.
The full SR22 insurance requires you to have BI/PD. This is bodily injury and property damage.
What Is FR44 Insurance?
Special attention is given to those who receive a DUI or DWI. They must get FR44 insurance. It works the same as SR22; you purchase your insurance from a company and they file a certificate with the state.
This insurance is different when it comes to the amount of insurance required. The limits are significantly higher because these drivers have been deemed high-risk by both the state and insurance companies.
The requirements for FR44 insurance are:
- $50,000 property damage per accident
- $100,000 bodily injury liability coverage, per person in an accident
- $300,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
The specific requirements for you can vary depending on your particular circumstances. Before you purchase this insurance, it is smart to confirm what the requirements are specifically for you.
Typically, you can expect to have this insurance for a minimum of three years from the date of your conviction.
What Happens If Your Skip the Insurance?
This insurance is expensive, and you may be tempted to drive without insurance. This is a terrible idea, don’t do it.
Florida is so serious about having insurance that they require you to have it so that you can register your vehicle. When you get caught, your license will automatically get revoked.
There is a waiting period to get it reinstated. Plus you could have to pay up to $500 in fines.
You will also have to purchase a 6-month non-cancellable SR22 certificate for two years. As you can see, trying to avoid the cost of SR22 insurance only results in significantly more costs.
Don’t Let It Lapse
Once you purchase your policy, do not cancel it or let it lapse. The insurance company will immediately notify the DMV.
You are now at risk of having your license revoked. The state can also take further action against you, which will only make your situation worse.
Purchase Your SR22 Insurance
If you need to purchase SR22 insurance, you will quickly find that many insurance companies do not offer it. Those that do charge a premium for coverage. This is because insurance companies view these drivers as high risk.
We can help you find the right SR22 insurance for your situation. We work multiple reputable insurance providers which enables us to create the perfect insurance coverage that is within your budget.
If you need SR22 insurance contact our office today and we can help you get back on the road.